We’ll Eat Again

patten Some years ago I worked as a reporter, and I once created a family section that included recipes from WWII.

I wanted to include a few dishes from We’ll Eat Again, by Marguerite Patten, which contains recipes and food tips from WWII. So I wrote to Ms. Patten and asked permission to reprint a recipe or two.

What a lovely person she is! She was so gracious and responsive. Not only did she allow me to reprint the recipes, she sent me a copy of her second cookbook, which focuses on food after the war, and wrote me a wonderful letter. (To thank her, I sent her a kosher cookbook which, I’m happy to say, I think she really enjoyed.)

You may have seen Marguerite Patten on the BBC’s “The 1940s House” or heard of her books. If not, please be sure to take a look at We’ll Eat Again. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. Meanwhile, here’s a recipe from the cookbook:

Cheese Pancakes

4 oz. flour
1 tsp. baking powder
2 eggs (2 level tablespoons dried egg mixed with 4 tablespoons water)
1/2 pint milk
4 oz. grated cheese
salt to taste
fat for frying

Method: Blend the flour, baking powder and mixed eggs smoothly, add sufficient milk to make a thick, smooth batter. Beat for 10 minutes. Add rest of milk, the grated cheese and salt. Heat a little fat in the frying pan till smoking hot, pour in a thin layer of batter, fry until golden brown on both sides. Turn out, roll, serve with a sprinkling of shredded cheese. Continue until all the batter is used.

3 thoughts on “We’ll Eat Again

Leave a Reply

