Cooking with My Great Kid

In addition to being a computer genius (I even call him from work for help with Facebook), my son is a wonderful cook. Last night he and I were in the kitchen, listening to Dave Brubeck and Duke Ellington and making food, and I had a spectacular time. I didn’t even mind washing the dishes.

One of the items we made was Lil’s Rice Casserole, which I found in an old cookbook. It’s really good!

Lil’s Rice Casserole

1-1/2 cups rice
10 cherry tomatoes, halved
3 cups hot vegetable or chicken broth (must be hot)
1 Tbsp. oil
1 onion, finely chopped
4-8 sliced mushrooms (depending on how much you like mushrooms)
1 small package of peas, thawed

Cook onions until soft. Add mushrooms, tomatoes and rice and mix. Add hot stock, salt and pepper to taste.

Pour mixture into a pot and place in a 400-degree oven. Cook 20 minutes. Add peas and cook five more minutes.

flax

Leave a Reply

