Two Presidents

jfk

I love reading about history. As you can imagine, I tend to pick up books that focus on WWII or WWI, but occasionally I opt for something more recent.
I’m originally from Missouri, and my favorite president is Harry Truman. Every now and then I go back and visit Independence, and my favorite stop is the little soda shop where Truman worked as a boy. I always go in and get a Coke when I’m there, then head over for a tour of the Truman house, where you can still see the president’s hat and coat, left exactly as he placed them for the last time before his death.
All my Catholic friends love Kennedy, which I totally understand. I was 4 when he was murdered, and I still remember the exact spot where I stood in the doorway when we heard that he had died, and how my mother stopped ironing, and she began to cry.
I found a cookbook that has recipes that presidents enjoyed, and here’s a favorite of the late John Kennedy.

John Kennedy’s Favorite Waffles

1 Tbsp. sugar
1/2 cup butter
2 egg yolks
7/8 cup milk
1/4 tsp. salt
1 cup plus 1 Tbsp. sifted cake flour
2 egg whites stiffly beaten
4 tsp. baking powder

Cream the sugar and butter. Add egg yolks and beat. Alternately add flour and milk.
If you like, you can now place this in the refrigerator until you’re ready to cook. And when you are ready…fold in egg whites, add baking powder and salt. Bake on a waffle iron. Serves three.
If you would like to enjoy these exactly as President Kennedy did, top with melted butter and maple syrup.

Leave a Reply

