A Toast to Milk Toast

toast

Isn’t it curious how some foods seem to be very much in fashion – and then disappear?
One of the most charming of these is milk toast. Popular in the early part of the 20th century, milk toast seems to have completely vanished.
(And may I add that ‘milquetoast’ is positively one of my favorite words, and that I went out with a few such unfortunate men before I met my wonderful husband. Shiver.)
Milk toast is a delicious breakfast on a cold winter day or as a late-night snack (I’m very fond of those). I like to think of children in the 1930s, perhaps having spent their Sunday afternoon playing in the snow, and then it’s late and they’re very tired, and that night they are cuddling under a quilt when their mother comes by with a bowl of steaming and yummy milk toast.
Give it a try!

Milk Toast

2 slices white bread
2 Tbsp. butter
1 cup milk
1 tsp. sugar
Pinch of nutmeg

Toast bread and top with butter. Set in a bowl.
Gently heat milk, adding sugar and nutmeg. Stir gently.
Pour milk over toast and let stand until toast begins to swell.

Leave a comment