Hank Greenberg’s Favorite Stew

0921_greenberg

What’s not to love about Hank Greenberg?

Here was a guy who stood up to anti-Semitism and racism, was one of the first major leaguers to enlist in WWII, and who wouldn’t play baseball on Yom Kippur.

Recently I came across a vintage Jewish cookbook with a recipe for his mother’s stew:

3 pounds stew beef, cut in large pieces

1 tsp. salt

Pepper, to taste

3 medium onions, chopped

2 leeks (white part only), cut up

2 Tbsp. oil

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

1 bay leaf

½ tsp. thyme

2 oz. brandy

2 cans beef broth

1 cup Burgundy wine

2 carrots, sliced

2 Tbsp. chopped parsley

Season beef with salt and pepper. In a heavy pan, sauté chopped onions and leaks in oil, until onions are golden brown. Add seasoned meat, garlic, bay leaf and thyme. Toss to combine, and brown meat. Add brandy and set aflame. Spoon until flame subsides. Add beef broth, wine and carrots. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to simmer and cook until meat is tender, about 2 hours. Remove bay leaf. Sprinkle with chopped parsley.

I’m a vegetarian, but I want to try this, so I’m going to give it a shot with tofu! I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hank Greenberg’s Favorite Stew

  1. I’d love to hear how it went with tofu! I made a mushroom bourguignon in January – but this recipe looks better. Do you think a mix of mushrooms and tofu would work? Plus, I have to respect any recipe that has both brandy AND wine!

Leave a comment